Can FlowFuse Node-Red Instances Communicate Together?

Hi I’m new to FlowFuse and Node-Red, I wanted to see if it’s possible to connect FlowFuse Node-Red instances together.

I would have a local FlowFuse Node-red instance running on a machine on our private network. Serving up a local private dashboard and connecting to our local devices.

Then I would like that Node-Red instance to communicate with my cloud instance of FlowFuse Node-Red and serve out a public dashboard of data from the local version of the Node-Red, Is this possible?

I understand I could have the local Node-Red instance Publish to a Cloud Mosquito Broker and have the cloud FlowFuse Node-Red instance subscribe to the Cloud Mosquito Broker. But wanted to see if there is a cleaner approach, and not have to add an additional cloud service fee?

We have “Project Nodes” which make use of an MQTT Broker under the hood of FlowFuse:

You could utilise the FlowFuse Device Agent, register your local instance as a “Device”. If you put both your “Device” Instance, and Cloud-Hosted Node-RED Instance under the same application on FlowFuse, then you can utilise the Project Nodes to report the data back

Thanks for that information, I did just sign up for the Team Plan so I’ll have access to Project Nodes, I look forward to figuring them out.

I’m setting up a new machine with Ubuntu. Reviewed the Local install page on FlowFuse Docs, there’s a lot that can be set up. Does FlowFuse have experts that could be access by myself, maybe like a 1 hour tech call. I believe this would help me figure the best set up for my system. Even if it’s a paid service, it would more then like save me hours…

1 Like

If you are using FlowFuse cloud then you most likely do not want to install FlowFuse locally, but you want to install the Device Agent